Monday, April 21, 2014

Magic Tree House #52: Soccer on Sunday by Mary Pope Osborne








Just in time for the 2014 Fifa World Cup, Magic Tree House #52: Soccer on Sunday will take Jack and Annie to a soccer field in Mexico where they must find the final secret of greatness for Merlin. On the field, they'll meet a young soccer player who dreams of one day playing in the World Cup just like his hero, the great Brazilian soccer player, Pelé!

The Magic Tree House books, with their fiction and nonfiction titles, are perfect for parents and teachers just starting to get into the "Core Curriculum." With a blend of magic, adventure, history, science, danger, and cuteness, the topics range from kid pleasers (pirates, the Titanic, pandas) to curriculum perfect (rain forest, American Revolution, Abraham Lincoln) to seasonal shoe-ins (Halloween, Christmas, Thanksgiving). There is truly something for everyone here!

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Public Libraries



I have posted about the value of the public library, but saw this and just had to remind everyone!

Friday, April 4, 2014

The Watermelon Seed Book by Pizzoli

The Watermelon Seed Book
With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love.

With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box.

The video, of course  . . .  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EYwWUarISLE

Friday, March 28, 2014

Half a Chance By Cynthia Lord

Half a Chance

A moving new middle-grade novel from the Newbery Honor author of Rules.
When Lucy's family moves to an old house on a lake, Lucy tries to see her new home through her camera's lens, as her father has taught her; he's a famous photographer, away on a shoot. Will her photos ever meet his high standards? When she discovers that he's judging a photo contest, Lucy decides to enter anonymously. She wants to find out if her eye for photography is really special, or only good enough.
As she seeks out subjects for her photos, Lucy gets to know Nate, the boy next door. But slowly the camera reveals what Nate doesn't want to see: his grandmother's memory is slipping away, and with it much of what he cherishes about his summers on the lake. This summer, Nate will learn about the power of art to show truth. And Lucy will learn how beauty can change lives...including her own.


The author's website - http://www.cynthialord.com/

Saturday, March 22, 2014

Walk This World by Jenny Broom


17262383 
A composite of global cultures, Walk this World celebrates the everyday similarities and differences that exist between cultures around the world. Travel to a new country with every turn of the page, each with new surprises to discover: peek through windows, open doors, and delve underground by opening the many flaps on every spread.

Sunday, March 16, 2014

What School Secretaries Do When No One is Looking by Irv Richardson, Jim Grant


Our beloved school secretary passed away last week after 51 years on the job.  No kidding!  I saw Jim Grant years ago chat about this book and others. 
Thank you Jane R for all your years of service to us!  We will miss you greatly!

What School Secretaries Do When No One is Looking 
This book is about school secretaries who year in and year out give their time, energy, support and care to those principals, teachers, and students on who behalf they work so hard.

 If you've been looking for a way to say thank you to your school's secretary, this book may be the answer. The humorous, full-color illustrations point out all those things they do to help you and the children, and to keep the school running smoothly.

Sunday, March 9, 2014

Something a little different . . .


22 Books You Should Read Now, Based On 
Your Childhood Favorites

If you  loved . . . as a child . . . you should read . . . as an adult . . . interesting.  Check it out
http://www.buzzfeed.com/ariannarebolini/books-to-read-based-on-your-childhood favorites?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=social%20media&utm_campaign=PearsonScienceNGSSPosters