Sunday, April 13, 2014

Public Libraries



I have posted about the value of the public library, but saw this and just had to remind everyone!

Friday, April 4, 2014

The Watermelon Seed Book by Pizzoli

The Watermelon Seed Book
With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love.

With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box.

The video, of course  . . .  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EYwWUarISLE

Friday, March 28, 2014

Half a Chance By Cynthia Lord

Half a Chance

A moving new middle-grade novel from the Newbery Honor author of Rules.
When Lucy's family moves to an old house on a lake, Lucy tries to see her new home through her camera's lens, as her father has taught her; he's a famous photographer, away on a shoot. Will her photos ever meet his high standards? When she discovers that he's judging a photo contest, Lucy decides to enter anonymously. She wants to find out if her eye for photography is really special, or only good enough.
As she seeks out subjects for her photos, Lucy gets to know Nate, the boy next door. But slowly the camera reveals what Nate doesn't want to see: his grandmother's memory is slipping away, and with it much of what he cherishes about his summers on the lake. This summer, Nate will learn about the power of art to show truth. And Lucy will learn how beauty can change lives...including her own.


The author's website - http://www.cynthialord.com/

Saturday, March 22, 2014

Walk This World by Jenny Broom


17262383 
A composite of global cultures, Walk this World celebrates the everyday similarities and differences that exist between cultures around the world. Travel to a new country with every turn of the page, each with new surprises to discover: peek through windows, open doors, and delve underground by opening the many flaps on every spread.

Sunday, March 16, 2014

What School Secretaries Do When No One is Looking by Irv Richardson, Jim Grant


Our beloved school secretary passed away last week after 51 years on the job.  No kidding!  I saw Jim Grant years ago chat about this book and others. 
Thank you Jane R for all your years of service to us!  We will miss you greatly!

What School Secretaries Do When No One is Looking 
This book is about school secretaries who year in and year out give their time, energy, support and care to those principals, teachers, and students on who behalf they work so hard.

 If you've been looking for a way to say thank you to your school's secretary, this book may be the answer. The humorous, full-color illustrations point out all those things they do to help you and the children, and to keep the school running smoothly.

Sunday, March 9, 2014

Something a little different . . .


22 Books You Should Read Now, Based On 
Your Childhood Favorites

If you  loved . . . as a child . . . you should read . . . as an adult . . . interesting.  Check it out
http://www.buzzfeed.com/ariannarebolini/books-to-read-based-on-your-childhood favorites?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=social%20media&utm_campaign=PearsonScienceNGSSPosters

Saturday, March 1, 2014

Daedal Doodle by Victor Stabin

We just had this author/illustrator at our school for Literacy Week.

12402727 
Vain snails, a small-headed monster looking for love, and sub-atomic sheep captivate readers through imagery, quirky words, and illuminating definitions. Explore letters A to Z to discover the true meaning of an Eohippus’s Epizoon and what on earth Ganoid Gubbins might be!

Inspired by reading “ABC” books to his three year old daughter Skyler, his love of words, and his incessant inability to stop doodling, he unflinchingly created the improbable alliterative combinations and illustrations that inhabit. 


Here is a video of an interview and his creative process - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEzuJk9C4iM